Institute Director

The Morrison Family Director of The Institute is appointed by the St. Olaf College President, is responsible for overall Institute programming, and acts in consultation with the Director’s Council.

Edmund Santurri
Morrison Family Director of The Institute, Professor of Religion and Philosophy


The members of the Director’s Council are also appointed by the St. Olaf College President. The Council provides advice and guidance to the Institute’s Director, helps the Director integrate the Institute’s mission and goals throughout the college, and reports to the college President the extent to which The Institute is accomplishing its mission.

STUDENTS: If you are interested in becoming a 2019-20 member of the IFC Director’s Council, please fill out this form to be considered.

Faculty Members                                                                                                  Student Members
Jolene BarjastehProfessor of Romance Languages                                      Tahir Ahsan ’20, 
Thomas BernardinAssistant Professor of Economics                                  Shaquille Brown ’19
Brian BorovskyAssociate Professor of Physics                                               Harry Edstrom ’19
Michael FuersteinAssociate Professor of Philosophy                                   Ezra Garcia ’19
Jeanine Grenberg, Professor of Philosophy                                                     Nicholas Gonnerman ’19
Ashley Hodgson, Associate Professor of Economics                                      Kathryn Hinderaker ’19
Jason Marsh, Associate Professor of Philosophy                                             Christoph Hodel ’20
James MayProfessor Emeritus, Classics                                                          Iain Carlos Vazquez Irwin ’20
Emily Mohl,  Assistant Professor of Biology and Education                         Ann Jensen ’19
Sian MuirEntrepreneur in Residence in Economics                                     Brigid Miller ’21
Steve ReeceProfessor of Classics                                                                     Danny Zalk ’19
Anthony RobertsArtist in Residence in Dance                                         
Douglas Schuurman, Professor of Religion   
Kathryn Ziegler-Graham, Associate Professor of Statistics